
Deputy Marriage Commissioner for a Day - Santa Cruz County 
In-Person Application - Apply in person at 701 Ocean St., Room 310, Santa Cruz 
Fee:  $125 
 
I am at least 18 years of age. I hereby request appointment as a Deputy Marriage Commissioner for the 
following wedding: 
 
Information about the Applicant 
 
Name of Applicant:   ____________________________________________________________________ 
                                       First   Middle   Last 
 
Mailing Address: _______________________________________________________________________ 
                               Street Number & Name or PO Box   City   State Zip   
  
Phone Number: ____________________________ Email: ______________________________________ 
 
Information about the Ceremony – Marriage license must be purchased in a California County. 
 
Date of Ceremony: ______________ City and County of Ceremony: ______________________________ 
        Month/Date/Year 
 
Name of First Person:  __________________________________________________________________ 
    As it will appear on the marriage license 
 
Name of Second Person: ________________________________________________________________     
    As it will appear on the marriage license 

                                                                                    
Please read carefully 
I have read and received the above instructions and acknowledge that my powers as a deputy are 
expressly limited.  By accepting this appointment I am subject to any applicable laws during the tenure 
of this appointment.  Deputy Commissioners serve at the will of the County Clerk and Commissioner of 
Civil Marriages.  No employment relationship is created by virtue of this appointment as a deputy 
commissioner of civil marriages to solemnize a marriage in California.  Any injuries incurred during the 
private performance of marriage ceremonies will not be eligible for coverage under the County’s Worker 
Compensation Program.  Furthermore, I understand that my performance of marriage ceremonies 
outside the County Clerk’s Office is not a county activity and I alone will be responsible for any injuries I 
might cause to third parties and agree to indemnify and defend Santa Cruz County and its County Clerk 
against any claims for injuries caused or alleged to have been caused by my performance of the 
marriage ceremony. 
 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true 
and correct. 
 
 
_________________________________________________            _____________________ 
 Applicant’s Signature                                                                   Date 

 



Instructions for the Ceremony & Completion of the Marriage License 
 

A Deputy Commissioner of Civil Marriages may solemnize one marriage under the direction of 
the Commissioner of Civil Marriages and under all of the following conditions and limitations.  
Please read these instructions before applying for your commission and before performing the 
ceremony. 
 

• The marriage may only be solemnized on the dates specified on the face of the 
Appointment and Oath of Office form.  The parties to the marriage must present a 
marriage license to the deputy prior to the ceremony as stated in Family Code 421.  
Solemnizing a marriage without first being presented with a marriage license, willfully 
making a false return of any marriage license or pretend marriage license to the county 
recorder is guilty of a misdemeanor under Penal Code Section 360. 

• Do not use white out, correction fluid, or make any corrections or changes if a mistake 
has been made.  The license cannot be recorded if altered in any way.  If there is a 
mistake, please notify the County Recorder when returning the marriage license.  A 
duplicate license must then be issued for an additional fee. 

• Use black ink or dark blue ink only.  The Deputy must fill in the following on the license:  
the date, city/town, and county of the ceremony, his/her signature and printed name, 
official title and address 

• This will be a civil commission, therefore there is no religious denomination and you 
should enter one dash mark in the field requesting this information (Box 29B). Your 
official title, to be entered into Box 29D, is Deputy Marriage Commissioner. 

• The Deputy Commissioner must have at least one, and no more than two witnesses sign 
the Public Marriage License (VS117), using black or dark blue ink only.   
No witness is required to sign a Confidential Marriage License (VS123). 

• No particular form for the marriage ceremony is required; however, the parties to the 
marriage must declare in the presence of the deputy that they take each other as 
spouses.  You will be provided with a sample civil marriage ceremony. 

• When completed, it is the Deputy Marriage Commissioner’s responsibility to return the 
marriage license to the County Recorder within 10 days of the ceremony.  Confidential 
marriage licenses are to be returned to the County Clerk within 10 days of the 
ceremony.  Failure to return a license for recording is a misdemeanor pursuant to Health 
and Safety Code 103785. 

• The Deputy shall not receive any money or anything of value for performing a marriage 
ceremony.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

 



California Family Code 421:  Before solemnizing a marriage, the person solemnizing the 
marriage shall require the presentation of the marriage license. If the person solemnizing the 
marriage has reason to doubt the correctness of the statement of facts in the marriage license, 
the person must be satisfied as to the correctness of the statement of facts before solemnizing 
the marriage. For this purpose, the person may administer oaths and examine the parties and 
witnesses in the same manner as the county clerk does before issuing the license. 
 
California Health and Safety Code 103785:  Every person who is required to fill out a certificate 
of birth, fetal death, or death, or marriage license and register it with the local registrar, or 
deliver it, upon request, to any person charged with the duty of registering it, and who fails, 
neglects, or refuses to perform that duty in the manner required by this part is guilty of a 
misdemeanor. 
 
California Penal Code 360: Every person authorized to solemnize any marriage, who solemnizes 
a marriage without first being presented with the marriage license, as required by Section 421 
of the Family Code; or who solemnizes a marriage pursuant to Part 4 (commencing with Section 
500) of Division 3 of the Family Code without the authorization required by that part; or who 
willfully makes a false return of any marriage or pretended marriage to the recorder or clerk 
and every person who willfully makes a false record of any marriage return, is guilty of a 
misdemeanor.      
                                           
                                                          


